Frequently Asked Questions
What are the requirements for Concealed Weapons License Training in Florida?
Florida has very few requirements for course structure for Concealed Weapons License training classes. The only guidance provided by Florida Law is for a Certified Firearms Instructor to “…observe a student safely handle and discharge a firearm.” (FL Statue 790.06)
REFUNDS, RETURNS, or EXCHANGES?
We DO NOT issue Refunds or Returns on courses purchased. The purpose of this policy is to motivate students to pay strict attention to firearms safety rules. Students pay for the course, not for successful completion or a certificate of accomplishment. Finishing a course to State Standards is Earned by the students effort.
IF a student should fail a qualification course of fire they may re-do the courses of fire at a later date and only be charged for firearm rental and ammunition if applicable.
What are the requirements to become an Armed Security Officer or Private Investigator in Florida?
Florida has strict requirements for course structure for the Florida "Class G" Statewide Firearms License. The initial class consists of 28 hours of training with a requirement of "Class G" licensees to complete a 4 hour annual qualification with firearms * they plan on carrying when conducting business regulated under FL Statute 493. Students taking this class should already have good shooting fundamentals prior to enrolling in the class as first time shooters generally do not pass the marksmanship qualification. I will gladly coach first time shooters prior to enrolling in this class if they are unsure of their shooting abilities.
* Firearms being same "caliber" and "type". Example: 9mm Semi-automatic or .38 Spl Revolver
May I take the "G" Armed Security Officer before taking the Unarmed "D" Security Officer class ?
YES! You may take the G Class prior to the D class BUT you cannot apply for a G license unless a D license application is submitted at the same time. The G Class is considered an "add-on" to your D license.
What should I bring to the Florida 28 Hour Initial or 4 Hour Annual Qualification?
For the Initial 28 hour class: Targets, 150 rounds of 9mm or .38 spl ammo, rental handgun, holster, and range fees are included in cost. Discounted price if using own handgun and ammunition (must be .380, 9mm, .40 S&W, or .45 ACP Semi-Auto OR .38 Spl Revolver)
For the Annual 4 hour class: Student is responsible for ammunition, duty gear, and firearm. Range fees and targets included in cost.
For the 28 Hour and 4 Hour Course you will need:
- Pants with belt loops and a belt to mount a holster and magazine pouches on
- Safety Glasses and Hearing protection (ear muffs recommended)
- Pen and Paper
- Closed toe shoes
- Open mind receptive to new shooting techniques and practices
- Food / Snacks / Sunscreen for range portion and classroom breaks.
Why the "this is not an NRA-Approved Course" Disclaimer?
Do not let this disclaimer discourage you from signing up for these courses. Simply put, the NRA Requires the disclaimer
anytime an NRA Certified Instructor advertises Non-NRA courses along with NRA Courses on promotional materials.
The disclaimer itself does not mean that the quality or content of the "non-NRA course" is lacking, it simply means that the
course content and syllabus has not been recognized by the NRA. In fact many high level advanced firearms manipulation
classes and Concealed Firearms classes taught in other states are often "non-NRA courses".
How do I apply for my Florida Concealed Weapons License after I attend one of your classes?
This will be discussed in class.
What payment do you accept?
Cash or Check, payable upon attendance of the course. You will be able pay for courses online via the website or invoice soon.
What should I wear to the Shooting Range?
Closed toe shoes and modest clothing as we do not want hot brass and shell casings falling down your shirt or pants.
Bring safety glasses and hearing protection, if you wear prescription eye wear you may use that as “safety glasses”
I see advertisements for (insert random nationwide concealed carry company here) on my social media, are you an instructor for them and where do you teach their classes? What topics are covered in these classes?
A lot of these nationwide companies are taking away business from the various local and talented Firearms Instructors in Florida. Usually these classes are geared towards firearms owners who all ready know how to shoot and is a quick review of the firearms safety rules, how a firearm operates, and how to apply for your Florida Concealed Weapons License. First time shooters may take these course but keep in mind that this course is not a thorough beginners course as the shooting requirement of the class to minimal (sometimes only shooting 5 rounds). Consult local instructors such as myself or a local gun shop to see what their CWL Courses entail and how thorough the classes are, especially relating to the shooting requirement.
What topics are covered in your Personal Protection Classes?
The Personal Protection classes are designed primarily as a thorough beginners firearms safety and manipulation class. The course is designed to get new and experienced shooters comfortable with shooting and handling a firearm. Essentially in the course we take the firearm and make using the firearm a part of one’s muscle memory so under stress you know how to use the firearm without having to think. “Hacking your brain” if you will.
Basic Handgun Course Syllabus includes:
Firearms Safety & Storage
Self Defense & Incident Avoidance
Types of Handguns
Handgun carry options
Draws from Concealment (aka weapon deployment)
Speed and Tactical Reloads
Cover and Concealment
What to expect at the shooting range:
Shooting targets @ 7, 15, and 25 yards
Shooting with one hand
Shooting while retaining a flashlight
Various Reloads and Malfunction Clearing
Do you teach Conceal Carry Law, Use of Force Law, other Laws and their applications, and Shoot / No Shoot scenarios in your courses?
Short answer: NO! However, I will show you the resources where you can find the applicable laws. Understand that the burden of knowledge of the law is your responsibility as a law abiding citizen. When you apply for your Concealed Weapons License you will receive a hard copy of applicable laws for responsible and legal concealed carry and use of force. (The Florida 790 and 776 statutes)
BUT WAIT, MAYBE YES in some cases: The only time law is discussed is when teaching the Florida 28 hour "G" Course and 4 hour annual qualifications for Armed Security Officers and Armed Private Investigators. Even so the above and below statement applies!
Please understand that I am a firearms instructor not a lawyer or attorney. Teaching the law would open myself up to liabilities should a graduate of one of my firearm safety classes use a firearm and tell a jury that “well my firearms instructor said I could do so”. I know other instructors teach the law but they do so at their own risk, the instructors who can teach the law are those whom are current attorneys or are a State of Florida "Class K" Law Enforcement and Security Officer Instructors.
Please seek an attorney or attend one of the many gun law seminars hosted by US Law Shield for legal advice in these matters.